STATUTORY MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION OF THE COUNTY OF ROANE, HELD JULY 1, 2024, AT 6:00 PM, AT SPENCER MIDDLE SCHOOL, SPENCER, WEST VIRGINIA

Present: Dennis Carpenter, Daris Harper, Jeffrey Mace, James Minney, Eileen Richardson

Absent: (none)

Meeting called to order by Jeffrey Mace (6:05 pm)

This meeting could be joined remotely. The public could join by calling 1-304-553-7794 and entering the provided conference ID or by joining on Microsoft Teams using the provided link.

Swearing in of Re-elected Board Members

- 1. Daris Harper (July 1, 2024 June 30, 2028)
- 2. Eileen Richardson (July 1, 2024 June 30, 2028)

Election of Officers

1. President

James Minney nominated Jeffrey Mace as Board President. No other nominations were heard. Motion carried. (6:05 pm)

Vice President

Daris Harper nominated James Minney as Board Vice President. No other nominations were heard. Motion carried. (6:05 pm)

Appointments to Commitees

1. Roane-Jackson Technical Center Administrative Council

Daris Harper nominated Dennis Carpenter as representative on the Roane Jackson Technical Center Administrative Council. No other nominations were heard. Motion carried. (6:06 pm)

2. Roane County WVU Extension Service Committee

Eileen Richardson nominated Daris Harper as representative on the Roane County WVU Extension Service Committee. No other nominations were heard. Motion carried. (6:07 pm)

3. November 2024 Excess Levy Committee

Dennis Carpenter nominated Daris Harper and Daris Harper nominated Dennis Carpenter, both as representatives on the November 2024 Excess Levy Committee. No other nominations were heard. Motion carried. (6:09 pm)

Personnel Consent Agenda - (Action)

Motion by Daris Harper and seconded by Dennis Carpenter to approve the following personnel items as recommended by Richard Duncan, Superintendent. Motion carried. (6:11 pm)

- 1. Resignation(s)
 - a. Peery, Allison Teacher / Math (Spencer Middle School), effective June 29, 2024
- 2. Extracurricular(s)
 - Miller, Brayden Coach, Boys Basketball (Roane County High School), effective July
 2, 2024

Adjournment

1. Adjourn until the next regular meeting on Thursday, July 11, 2024 Motion by Daris Harper and seconded by Eileen Richardson to approve. Motion carried. (6:16 pm)